Want to encode or decode a message? Hey I'm kinda new to python as well but I can help! Python Atbash cypher Ask Question. To encipher a message, find the letter you wish to encipher in the top row, then replace it with the letter in the bottom row. Work fast with our official CLI. While it relies completely upon suprise hint: don't use it to encode truly secret messagesmost decoders mentally try the caesar cipher fixed letter shiftwhich fails, and assume a mixed alphabet cipher. It is also implemented to match the specification's algorithms, rather than for performance. Code repository and issue tracker are at bitbucket. Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atbash. An Atbash cipher for the Latin alphabet would be as follows: I use your code but create a dictionary where each name has a value that is equal to what Atbash would convert it to. This article is contributed by Palash Nigam. From where you are, you can create a conversion dictionary: Then you can use a list comprehension to get the translation of each character: then to get a string, join those characters: I hope this answer helps clarifying things for you. Learn more, We use analytics cookies to understand how you use our websites so we can make them better, e.g.